Home

never too old for a tail

February 6, 2013

Occasionally I wonder if I will ever truly grow up.

I sometimes go on extra alert, waiting (without anticipation) to see if that day will come; just out of curiosity.

I hope it never happens.  The day I wake up and don’t want to put on a pair of wings and frolic about the house had best be because that’s the day I put on a tail and find a water source.

Which brings me to my latest goal, obsession, desire, etc.  Well, I say latest, but it’s not exactly a new area for me, it’s simply new in deciding that I should actively pursue becoming a mermaid.

Of course, as always, I am excellent in the researching and planning stages, but the moment it comes to putting ideas into action, I tend to falter.  Also, I’m lucky if I can hold my breath for ten seconds, and fish sometimes freak me out.  I’m a little afraid of sharks as well… and water snakes… and alligators… and growing extra limbs or other weird things from polluted waters.

To be fair, given that I live in Ontario, only a few of these are of real concern at the moment.  Imagined concern is entirely different, but also very real for me as I can turn a guppy into a razor toothed menace complete with bulging shifty eyes and scary pointing down in the middle eyebrows (just so you know he’s really evil and angry) capable of leaping out of an aquarium and flying (that’s right, I said flying) throughout the house to find and devour me.

All I am saying is that the journey to becoming a mermaid may not be as simple as wearing a tail.

No worries though, I won’t be trading in my wings for a monofin.  I can only imagine how much you were concerned by this.

I love my airy faerie world, but I have always been a water being and outside of laying in puddles during rainstorms I have been away from this element for too long.  I am never more myself than when I am gliding through water.

I leave you with one of my most favourite mermaids.  The lovely Hannah Fraser.

Leave a Reply

